HomeOverviewStagesLinksSearch
Deutsch English
Stages
Stages | Karlsruhe
Karlsruhe 1785

The capital of Baden, then still a margravedom, is oriented around the castle like a fan. Where exactly Karl Drais was born there is not known. His father Wilhelm baron von Drais, aged 30, was a senior civil servant and Privy Councillor and like all civil servants lived near the castle, presumably on the Zirkel as the street is called till today. His mother, aged 28, was a baroness von Kaltenthal. His first child and only son was born on April 24, 1785 and baptized a Protestant at home the same day. The christening was attended by the ruler Carl-Friedrich who served as godfather and his three sons, of whom the youngest named Ludwig became the employer of the Councillor's son in the forest commission and later still the ruler. Accordingly the Councillor chose the prenames of his son to please the ruling family: Karl Friedrich Christian Ludwig Drais von Sauerbronn.

The Drais family were civil servants without landed property that had to enter a duke's service for a living. The ruler and godfather decided on Karl Drais for the forest service later on, although there was a glut of applicants.

Karl attended secondary modern school in Karlsruhe stressing natural sciences, since he had problems with Latin. The headmaster experimented then with optical telegraphs and pupil Karl Drais will follow in the headmaster's footsteps with binary coding and his stenograph. Yet a stroke of fate occurred: His father overburdened with workload was struck by epileptic seizures.


© Sören Fink with scientific support of Prof. Dr. H. E. Lessing

HomeÜbersichtStationenLinksSuche
Deutsch English
Stationen
Stationen | Karlsruhe
Karlsruhe 1785

Die Residenzstadt von Baden, damals noch Markgrafschaft, ist fächerförmig um das zentrale Schloß aufgebaut. Wo Karl Drais dort geboren ist, ist bislang unbekannt. Der 30jährige Vater Wilhelm von Drais war fürstlicher Hof- und Regierungsrat und wohnte wie alle Beamten oder Diener (wie man damals noch sagte) in Schlossnähe, vermutlich an dem heute noch so genannten Zirkel. Die 28jährige Mutter war eine geborene von Kaltenthal. Zur evangelischen Haustaufe noch am Tag der Geburt, dem 29. April 1785, erschien der Herrscher Carl-Friedrich persönlich und fungierte als Pate, zudem seine drei Söhne, wovon der jüngste namens Ludwig dereinst der Karl Drais' Dienstherr in der Forstkommission und viel später noch Herrscher sein wird. Entsprechend wählte der Vater die Vornamen des Sohnes, um den Herrscher für ihn einzunehmen: Karl Friedrich Christian Ludwig Drais von Sauerbronn

Die Draisens waren Beamtenadel ohne Grundbesitz, der sich zum Lebensunterhalt in fürstliche Dienste begeben musste. Der Herrscher und Pate bestimmte Karl Drais später zum Forstdienst, obwohl dort der Bewerberstau groß war.

Ins Karlsruher Lyzeum ging Karl später bis zum Realabschluss, denn mit Latein hatte er Probleme. Der Schulleiter experimentierte damals mit optischen Flügeltelegrafen, und sein Schüler Karl wird mit Binärkodierung und Stenomaschine in seine Fußstapfen treten. Doch vorher gab es einen Schicksalsschlag: Der mit Geschäften überbürdete Vater bekam epileptische Anfälle.


© Sören Fink mit wissenschaftlicher Unterstützung von Prof. Dr. H. E. Lessing